Lauren's Blog

stop and smell the roses

Disable Balloon Tips July 29, 2009

Filed under: Windows XP — Lauren @ 3:51 pm

I hate clutter in my System Tray. I hate when software runs when Windows starts and adds another icon. I especially hate the annoying information balloons that pop up all the time! Why do I need a balloon notifying me that “a network cable has been disconnected” when the icon changes to a computer with a big, red X on it? Or the “Found new hardware” balloon every time you plug in your flash drive? I would be OK with them if they eventually went away like the Outlook Desktop Alert notifications, but you have to click the balloons to make them disappear! To much clicking!

I’m all about customization so I wanted to get rid of them asap. I checked all the Windows Display Settings and Taskbar Settings and didn’t find anything for balloon tips so I Googled. Here are my Google Search Results: “get rid of windows balloons”.

The first two hits gave me what I wanted. Since this solution involves editing the Windows Registry, I checked a couple more articles to make sure the solutions were similar. I don’t like to mess with the operating system but I had to get rid of those balloons! The PCMAG article is the one I followed initially:

Get Rid of Those Pesky Balloons!

  1. From the Start button select Run (Windows Logo + R)
  2. Type regedit and hit Enter to open the Registry Editor
  3. Go to HKEY_CURRENT_USER → software → microsoft → windows → currentversion → explorer → advanced
  4. Under Edit select New → DWORD Value
  5. Type EnableBalloonTips and hit Enter
  6. Close the Registry Editor and Log Out/Log In again to enable the change

At first I was confused why I was typing EnableBalloonTips when I want to Disable them but reading the WindowsNetworking article I learned that assigning the value to 0 would disable it. To enable the balloon tips set the value to 1.

After I logged back in, I tested it out by unplugging my Ethernet cable. No balloon! Thanks PCMag :)

 

One Response to “Disable Balloon Tips”

  1. Dookssoop Says:

    Great, I didn’t know about this topic till now. Thankz.


Leave a Reply

